Chapter contributors

Below provided is a list of specialists, who will contribute to the Manual of Afrotropical Diptera.

Kirk-Spriggs, A.H. & Sinclair, B.J. (eds). 2017. Manual of Afrotropical Diptera. Volume 1. Introductory chapters and keys to Diptera families. Suricata 4. Pretoria: SANBI Graphics & Editing, i–xiii + 1–425 pp.

Chapter title

Contributor(s)

E-mail address

Status

Chapter 1. General Introduction: brief history of Afrotropical dipterology

Ashley Kirk-Spriggs

Ashley.Kirk-Spriggs@nasmus.co.za;

published

Chapter 2. Collection and preservation of Diptera

Ashley Kirk-Spriggs

Ashley.Kirk-Spriggs@nasmus.co.za

published

Chapter 3. Adult Morphology and Terminology

Jeff Cumming &
Monty Wood

cummingjm@agr.gc.ca;
mgwood@mac.com

published

Chapter 4. Natural History of Diptera

Steve Marshall &
Ashley Kirk-Spriggs

samarsha@uoguelph.ca;
Ashley.Kirk-Spriggs@nasmus.co.za

published

Chapter 5. Agricultural and Veterinary Significance of Diptera

Keith Harris

kmharris@lineone.net

published

Chapter 6. Medical Significance of Diptera

Maureen Coetzee

maureenc@nicd.ac.za

published

Chapter 7. Forensic Significance of Diptera

Martin Villet

M.Villet@ru.ac.za

published

Chapter 8. Phytosanitary Significance of Diptera

Mervyn Mansell

mansel@mweb.co.za

published

Chapter 9. Biogeography of Diptera

Ashley Kirk-Spriggs & Burgert Muller

Ashley.Kirk-Spriggs@nasmus.co.za;
burgert.muller@nasmus.co.za

published

Chapter 10. Conservation of Diptera

Michael Samways,
Ashley Kirk-Spriggs &
Gillian McGregor

samways@sun.ac.za;
Ashley.Kirk-Spriggs@nasmus.co.za; g.k.mcgregor@ru.ac.za

published

Chapter 11. Phylogeny of Diptera

Brian Wiegmann &
David Yeates

bwiegman@ncsu.edu;
david.yeates@csiro.au

published

Chapter 12. Key to Diptera families — adults

Steve Marshall,
Ashley Kirk-Spriggs,
Burgert Muller,
Steve Paiero,
Tiffany Yau &
Morgan Jackson

samarsha@uoguelph.ca;
ashley.kirk-spriggs@nasmus.co.za;
burgert.muller@nasmus.co.za;
paieros@uoguelph.ca;
tyau@uoguelph.ca;
jackson@uoguelph.ca

published

Chapter 13. Key to Diptera families — larvae

Art Borkent &
Bradley Sinclair

artborkent@telus.net;
Bradley.Sinclair@inspection.gc.ca

published

Kirk-Spriggs, A.H. & Sinclair, B.J. (eds). 2017. Manual of Afrotropical Diptera. Volume 2. Nematocerous Diptera and lower Brachycera. Suricata 5. Pretoria: SANBI Graphics & Editing, i–xii + 427–1361 pp.

Chapter/Family

Contributor(s)

E-mail address

Status

Chapter 14.
Limoniidae and Tipulidae

Herman de Jong


H.deJong@uva.nl

published

Chapter 15. Tanyderidae

Isaí Madriz

rimadriz@iastate.edu

published

Chapter 16. Blephariceridae

Greg Courtney

gwcourt@iastate.edu

published

Chapter 17. Bibionidae

John Skartveit

john.skartveit@nla.no

published

Chapter 18. Keroplatidae

Vladimir Blagoderov & Jan Ševcík

vlab@nhm.ac.uk; sevcikjan@hotmail.com

published

Chapter 19. Lygistorrhinidae

Vladimir Blagoderov

vlab@nhm.ac.uk

published

Chapter 20. Mycetophilidae

Geir Søli

geir.soli@nhm.uio.no

published

Chapter 21. Sciaridae

Frank Menzel

frank.menzel@senckenberg.de

published

Chapter 22. Cecidomyiidae

Netta Dorchin,
Keith Harris &
Mathias Jaschhof

ndorchin@tauex.tau.ac.il;
kmharris@lineone.net;
mjaschhof@yahoo.de

published

Chapter 23. Heterotricha-Group (Sciaroidea, unassigned to family)

Mathias Jaschhof

mjaschhof@yahoo.de

published

Chapter 24. Psychodidae

Rüdiger Wagner &
Gunnar Kvilfte

ruediger.wagner@uni-kassel.de;
Gunnar.Kvifte@um.uib.no

published

Chapter 25. Anisopodidae

Geoff Hancock

Geoff.Hancock@glasgow.ac.uk

published

Chapter 26. Scatopsidae

Jean-Paul Haenni &
Dalton de Souza Amorim

Jean-Paul.Haenni@unine.ch;
dsamorim@usp.br

published

Chapter 27. Ptychopteridae

Andrew Fasbender

afasbender@rhithron.com

published

Chapter 28. Dixidae

Jan Ševcik &
Vladimir Blagoderov

sevcikjan@hotmail.com;
vlab@nhm.ac.uk

published

Chapter 29. Corethrellidae

Art Borkent

artborkent@telus.net

published

Chapter 30. Chaoboridae

Art Borkent

artborkent@telus.net

published

Chapter 31. Culicidae

Maureen Coetzee

maureenc@nicd.ac.za

published

Chapter 32. Simuliidae

Ferdy de Moor

F.deMoor@ru.ac.za

published

Chapter 33. Thaumaleidae

Bradley Sinclair

Bradley.Sinclair@inspection.gc.ca

published

Chapter 34. Ceratopogonidae

Art Borkent

artborkent@telus.net

published

Chapter 35. Chironomidae

Torbjørn Ekrem, Patrick Ashe
Elisabeth Stur & Trond Anderson

Torbjorn.Ekrem@vm.ntnu.no;
patrick.ashe@upcmail.ie;
elisabeth.stur@ntnu.no;
Trond.Andersen@um.uib.no

published

Chapter 36. Vermileonidae

Norman Woodley & Vaughn R. Swart

normwoodley@gmail.com;
swartvr@ufs.ac.za

published

Chapter 37. Rhagionidae

Peter Kerr & Bradley Sinclair

peter.kerr@cdfa.ca.gov;
Bradley.Sinclair@inspection.gc.ca

published

Chapter 38. Athericidae

Norman Woodley

normwoodley@gmail.com

published

Chapter 39. Tabanidae

John Chainey

jjbrindle70@btinternet.com

published

Chapter 40. Xylomyidae

Norman Woodley

normwoodley@gmail.com

published

Chapter 41. Stratiomyidae

Martin Hauser, Norman Woodley &
Diego A. Fachin

phycus@gmail.com; normwoodley@gmail.com; diegoafachin@gmail.com

published

Chapter 42. Acroceridae

Shaun Winterton &
David Barraclough

wintertonshaun@gmail.com;
david.a.barraclough@gmail.com

published

Chapter 43. Nemestrinidae

David Barraclough

david.a.barraclough@gmail.com

published

Chapter 44. Mythicomyiidae

Neal Evenhuis

neale@bishopmuseum.org

published

Chapter 45. Bombyliidae

Neal Evenhuis & Carlos Lamas

neale@bishopmuseum.org;
einicker@usp.br

published

Chapter 46. Apioceridae

Torsten Dikow

DikowT@si.edu

published

Chapter 47. Mydidae

Torsten Dikow

DikowT@si.edu

published

Chapter 48. Asilidae

Jason Londt & Torsten Dikow

londtja@telkomsa.net;
DikowT@si.edu

published

Chapter 49. Therevidae

Martin Hauser,
Shaun Winterton, Ashley Kirk-Spriggs & Kevin Holston

phycus@gmail.com; wintertonshaun@gmail.com;
ashley.kirk-spriggs@nasmus.co.za; Kevin.Holston@nrm.se

published

Chapter 50. Scenopinidae

Shaun Winterton & Steve Gaimari

wintertonshaun@gmail.com;
SGaimari@cdfa.ca.gov

published

Chapter 51. Empididae

Bradley Sinclair &
Christophe Daugeron

Bradley.Sinclair@inspection.gc.ca;
daugeron@mnhn.fr

published

Chapter 52. Hybotidae

Bradley Sinclair &
Jeff Cumming

Bradley.Sinclair@inspection.gc.ca;
cummingjm@agr.gc.ca

published

Chapter 53. Brachystomatidae

Bradley Sinclair

Bradley.Sinclair@inspection.gc.ca

published

Chapter 54. Atelestidae

Bradley Sinclair

Bradley.Sinclair@inspection.gc.ca

published

Chapter 55. Homalocnemiidae

Bradley Sinclair

Bradley.Sinclair@inspection.gc.ca

published

Chapter 56. Dolichopodidae

Igor Grichanov & Scott Brooks

Grichanov@mail.ru;
Scott.Brooks@AGR.GC.CA

published

Kirk-Spriggs, A.H. & Sinclair, B.J. (eds). 20XX. Manual of Afrotropical Diptera. Volume 3. Brachycera: Cyclorrhapha, excluding Calyptratae. Suricata X. Pretoria: SANBI Graphics & Editing.

Chapter/Family

Contributor(s)

E-mail address

Status

Chapter 57. Platypezidae

Peter Chandler

chandgnats@aol.com

submitted

Chapter 58. Lonchopteridae

Andrew Whittington

andrewewhittington@gmail.com

submitted

Chapter 59. Phoridae

Henry Disney & Mike Mostovski

rhld2@hermes.cam.ac.uk; mike.mostovski@gmail.com

submitted

Chapter 60. Syrphidae

Axel Ssymank, Marc De Meyer,
Kurt Jordaens,
Menno Reemer & Graham Rotheray

ssymanka@t-online.de;
marc.de.meyer@africamuseum.be;
kurt.jordaens@africamuseum.be;
Reemer@naturalis.nnm.nl;
G.Rotheray@nms.ac.uk

submitted

Chapter 61. Pipunculidae

Marc De Meyer, Mihály Földvári & Jeff Skevington

marc.de.meyer@africamuseum.be;
mihalyfoldvari@gmail.com; jhskevington@gmail.com

submitted

Chapter 62. Micropezidae

Steve Marshall

samarsha@uoguelph.ca

submitted

Chapter 63. Neriidae

Fernando Carvalho-Filho

fernanbio@yahoo.com.br

submitted

Chapter 64. Diopsidae

Hans Feijen

hansfeijen19@yahoo.co.uk

submitted

Chapter 65. Psilidae

Anatole Shatalkin

shatalkin@zmmu.msu.ru

submitted

Chapter 66. Conopidae

Jens-Hermann Stuke

jhstuke@zfn.uni-bremen.de

submitted

Chapter 67. Lonchaeidae

Iain MacGowan & Graham Rotheray

Iain.MacGowan@snh.gov.uk;
grahamrotheray@gmail.com

submitted

Chapter 68. Piophilidae

Burgert Muller &
Ashley Kirk-Spriggs

burgert.muller@nasmus.co.za;
ashley.kirk-spriggs@nasmus.co.za

 

Chapter 69. Ulidiidae

Elena Kameneva

kameneva.elena@gmail.com

submitted

Chapter 70. Platystomatidae

Andrew Whittington &
Ashley Kirk-Spriggs

andrewewhittington@gmail.com;
ashley.kirk-spriggs@nasmus.co.za

submitted

Chapter 71. Tephritidae

 David Hancock,  Amnon Freidberg & Ariel-Leib Fridman

davidhancock50@bigpond.com;
afdipter@post.tau.ac.il
laibale@post.tau.ac.il

 

Chapter 72. Pyrgotidae

Valery Korneyev

valery.korneyev@gmail.com

submitted

Chapter 73. Ctenostylidae

Valery Korneyev &
David Barraclough

valery.korneyev@gmail.com;
david.a.barraclough@gmail.com

submitted

Chapter 74. Lauxaniidae

Stephen Gaimari & Ray Miller

SGaimari@cdfa.ca.gov;
MillerR@ukzn.ac.za

 submitted

Chapter 75. Celyphidae

 Stephen Gaimari & Ray Miller

SGaimari@cdfa.ca.gov;
MillerR@ukzn.ac.za

 submitted

Chapter 76. Chamaemyiidae

Steve Gaimari

SGaimari@cdfa.ca.gov

 submitted

Chapter 77. Coelopidae

Yuchen Ang & Rudolf Meier

azurehalcyon@gmail.com;
meier@nus.edu.sg

submitted

Chapter 78. Sciomyzidae

Jean-Claude Vala, Lloyd Knutson &
Ray Miller

jean-claude.vala@wanadoo.fr;
lvknutson@tiscali.it;
MillerR@ukzn.ac.za

submitted

Chapter 79. Sepsidae

Andrey Ozerov

ozerov2455@rambler.ru

submitted

Chapter 80. Natalimyzidae

David Barraclough

david.a.barraclough@gmail.com

submitted

Chapter 81. Clusiidae

Owen Lonsdale

neoxabea@hotmail.com

submitted

Chapter 82. Marginidae

David Barraclough

david.a.barraclough@gmail.com

submitted

Chapter 83. Odiniidae

Steve Gaimari

SGaimari@cdfa.ca.gov

 submitted

Chapter 84. Opomyzidae

Jan Willem van Zuijlen

opomyzid@gmail.com

submitted

Chapter 85. Xenasteiidae

David Barraclough

david.a.barraclough@gmail.com

submitted

Chapter 86. Agromyzidae

Owen Lonsdale &
Michael von Tschirnhaus

neoxabea@hotmail.com; 
m.tschirnhaus@uni-bielefeld.de

submitted

Chapter 87. Anthomyzidae

Jindrich Rohácek

rohacek@szm.cz

submitted

Chapter 88. Aulacigastridae

Alessandra Rung & Wayne Mathis

arung@cdfa.ca.gov;
mathisw@si.edu

submitted

Chapter 89. Neminidae

Amnon Freidberg

afdipter@post.tau.ac.il

submitted

Chapter 90. Neurochaetidae

Owen Lonsdale

neoxabea@hotmail.com

submitted

Chapter 91. Periscelididae

Alessandra Rung & Wayne Mathis

arung@cdfa.ca.gov;
mathisw@si.edu

submitted

Chapter 92. Asteiidae

Amnon Freidberg

afdipter@post.tau.ac.il

submitted

Chapter 93. Carnidae

John Swann

jeswann@ucalgary.ca

 

Chapter 94. Canacidae

Lorenzo Munari & Wayne Mathis

munari.lorenzo@gmail.com;
mathisw@si.edu

submitted

Chapter 95. Milichiidae

John Swann

jeswann@ucalgary.ca

submitted

Chapter 96. Chloropidae

John Ismay, John Deeming & Barbara Ismay

schultmay@insectsrus.co.uk
John.Deeming@museumwales.ac.uk

 

Chapter 97. Chyromyidae

Martin Ebejer

martin.ebejer@btinternet.com

submitted

Chapter 98. Heleomyzidae

Andrzej Woznica

ajwoznica@gmail.com

 submitted

Chapter 99. Sphaeroceridae

László Papp &
Jindrich Rohácek

flyer.papp@gmail.com;
rohacek@szm.cz

submitted

Chapter 100. Ephydridae

Wayne Mathis &
Tadeusz Zatwarnicki

mathisw@si.edu;
zatwar@uni.opole.pl

submitted

Chapter 101. Mormotomyiidae

Ashley Kirk-Spriggs &
Robert Copeland

ashley.kirk-spriggs@nasmus.co.za;
hunteriazeylanica@yahoo.com

submitted

Chapter 102. Camillidae

David Barraclough & Ashley Kirk-Spriggs

david.a.barraclough@gmail.com;
Ashley.Kirk-Spriggs@nasmus.co.za

submitted

Chapter 103. Curtonotidae

Ashley Kirk-Spriggs

ashley.kirk-spriggs@nasmus.co.za

 

Chapter 104. Diastatidae (incl. Campichoetidae)

Ashley Kirk-Spriggs &
Wayne Mathis

ashley.kirk-spriggs@nasmus.co.za;
mathisw@si.edu

submitted

Chapter 105. Braulidae

Burgert Muller

burgert.muller@nasmus.co.za

 

Chapter 106. Drosophilidae

Shane McEvey &
David Grimaldi

Shane.McEvey@austmus.gov.au; grimaldi@amnh.org;

submitted

Chapter 107. Cryptochetidae

Ashley Kirk-Spriggs &
Emilia Nartshuk

ashley.kirk-spriggs@nasmus.co.za;
chlorops@zin.ru

 submitted

Kirk-Spriggs, A.H. & Sinclair, B.J. (eds). 20XX. Manual of Afrotropical Diptera. Volume 4. Brachycera: Cyclorrhapha: Calyptratae. Suricata X. Pretoria: SANBI Graphics & Editing.

Chapter/Family

Contributor(s)

E-mail address

Status

Chapter 108. Glossinidae

Thomas Pape

TPape@snm.ku.dk

 

Chapter 109. Hippoboscidae

Thomas Pape &
Mihály Földvári

TPape@snm.ku.dk;
mihalyfoldvari@gmail.com

 

Chapter 110. Scathophagidae

Andrey Ozerov

ozerov2455@rambler.ru

submitted

Chapter 111. Anthomyiidae

Verner Michelsen

VMichelsen@snm.ku.dk

submitted

Chapter 112. Fanniidae

Adrian Pont

pont.muscidae@btinternet.com

submitted

Chapter 113. Muscidae

Marcia Couri &
Adrian Pont

courimarcia@gmail.com;
pont.muscidae@btinternet.com

submitted

Chapter 114. Calliphoridae

Knut Rognes

knut@rognes.no

submitted

Chapter 115. Rhiniidae

Knut Rognes

knut@rognes.no

submitted

Chapter 116. Sarcophagidae

Daniel Whitmore, Krzysztof Szpila, Thomas Pape &
Nigel Wyatt

D.Whitmore@nhm.ac.uk;
szpila@umk.pl;
TPape@snm.ku.dk; 
N.Wyatt@nhm.ac.uk

 

Chapter 117. Rhinophoridae

Pierfilippo Cerretti &
Thomas Pape

TPape@snm.ku.dk;
pierfilippocerretti@yahoo.it

 

Chapter 118. Tachinidae

Pierfilippo Cerretti, James O'Hara, John O. Stireman & Monty Wood

pierfilippocerretti@yahoo.it;
james.ohara@agr.gc.ca;
john.stireman@wright.edu;
mgwood@mac.com

 

Chapter 119. Oestridae

Thomas Pape

TPape@snm.ku.dk

 


*Final order of authorship pending.