Collections

The below list comprises collections in Africa, the Middle East, Europe and North America, that are known to contain substantial holdings of Afrotropical Diptera. The major collections in Africa are: Natal Museum, National Museum of Namibia, National Museum of Kenya, Albany Museum, National Museum and National Collection of Insects. Contact details of collection managers and curators are provided, but please note that this information may be subject to change without notice.

International coden

Collection

Contact person

E-mail address

AFRICA

AMGS

Albany Museum, Grahamstown, South Africa Vacant  

BMSA

National Museum, Bloemfontein, South Africa

Ashley Kirk-Spriggs

Ashley.Kirk-Spriggs@nasmus.co.za

DMSA

Durban Museum of Natural History, South Africa

Kirstin Williams

williamsk@durban.gov.za

NMKE

National Museum of Kenya, Nairobi, Kenya

Laban Njoroge

nnlaban@yahoo.com

NMNW National Museum of Namibia, Windhoek, Namibia Vince Bliss

vince100@webmail.co.za

NMSA

KwaZulu-Natal Museum, Pietermaritzburg, South Africa John Midgley

jmidgley@nmsa.org.za

PPRI

National Collection of Insects, PPRI, Pretoria, South Africa Vivienne Uys

UysV@arc.agric.za

PPRZ

Plant Protection Research Institute, Harare, Zimbabwe Godfrey Chikwenhere

plantpro@ecoweb.co.zw

SAIM

National Institute for Communicable Diseases, Johannesburg, South Africa Lizette Koekemoer

lizettek@nicd.ac.za

SAMC

Iziko Museum of Cape Town, South Africa Dawn Larsen

dlarsen@iziko.org.za

UKZN

University of KwaZulu-Natal, Pietermaritzburg, South Africa Ray Miller

MillerR@ukzn.ac.za

NORTH AMERICA

AMNH

American Museum of Natural History, New York, United States Tam Nguyen

nguyen@amnh.org

CASC

Californian Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, United States Norman Penny

npenny@calacademy.org

USNM

National Museum of Natural History, Washington D.C., United States Torsten Dikow

DikowT@si.edu

EUROPE

BMNH

Natural History Museum, London, United Kingdom Nigel Wyatt N.Wyatt@nhm.ac.uk

CUMZ

University, Museum of Zoology, Cambridge, United Kingdom

William Foster

waf1@hermes.cam.ac.uk

FBUB Biological Collection, Universität Bielefeld, Bielefeld, Germany Michael von Tschirnhaus

m.tschirnhaus@uni-bielefeld.de

HNHM

Hungarian Natural History Museum, Budapest, Hungary Zoltán Soltész

soltesz@entomologia.hu

ISNB

Institut royal des Sciences naturelles de Belgique, Brussels, Belgium Patrick Grootaert

pgrootaert@yahoo.co.uk

MNHN

Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, Paris, France Christophe Daugeron

daugeron@mnhn.fr

MZLU

Museum of Zoology, Lund University, Lund, Sweden Roy Danielsson

Roy.Danielsson@zool.lu.se

MZPW

Museum of the Institute of Zoology, Polish Academy of Science, Warszawa, Poland Wioletta Tomaszewska

wiolkat@miiz.waw.pl

NHMB

Naturhistorisches Museum, Basel, Switzerland Daniel Burckhardt

Daniel.Burckhardt@unibas.ch

NHRS

Naturhistoriska riksmuseet, Stockholm, Sweden Bert Viklund

bert.viklund@nrm.se

NMW

Naturhistorisches Museum Wien, Wien, Austria Peter Sehnal

peter.sehnal@NHM-WIEN.AC.AT

NMWC

National Museum and Gallery of Wales, Cardiff, United Kingdom Adrian Plant

Adrian.Plant@museumwales.ac.uk

OXUM

Oxford University Museum of Natural History, Oxford, United Kingdom Darren Mann

darren.mann@oum.ox.ac.uk

RMCA

Musée Royal de l'Afrique Centrale, Tervuren, Belgium Stéphane Hanot

stephane.hanot@africanmuseum.be

RMNH

Netherlands Centre for Biodiversity Naturalis, Leiden, Netherlands Cees van Achtenberg

Cees.vanAchterberg@ncbnaturalis.nl

SDEI

Senckenberg Deutsches Entomologisches Institut, Germany Frank Menzel

frank.menzel@senckenberg.de

SMNS

Staatliches Museum für Naturkunde, Stuttgart, Germany

Hans-Peter Tschorsnig

tschorsnig.smns@naturkundemuseum-bw.de

ZFMK

Zoologische Forschungsinstitut und Museum 'Alexander Koenig', Bonn, Germany Ximo Mengual

X.Mengual@zfmk.de

ZMHB

Museum für Naturkunde der Humboldt-Universität, Berlin, Germany Joachim Ziegler

joachim.ziegler@museum.hu-berlin.de

ZMUC

Zoological Museum, University of Copenhagen, Denmark Thomas Pape

TPape@snm.ku.dk

ZSMC

Zoologische Staatssammlung, München, Germany Marion Kotrba

Marion.Kotrba@zsm.mwn.de

MIDDLE EAST

TAUI

Tel Aviv University, Tel Aviv, Israel Netta Dorchin

ndorchin@post.tau.ac.il