Geographical scope

In order for chapter contributions to be compliant with published information in Crosskey's (1980) Catalogue of the Diptera of the Afrotropical Region, the geographical scope of the Manual shall follow that outlined and mapped on p. 32 of that work, with the exception of the Afrotropical part of the Arabian Peninsula, which should also include the modern states of Oman and the United Arab Emirates.

The coverage can be summarized as follows: continental Africa south of the Sahara, with the northern boundaries of the modern states of Mauritania, Mali, Niger, Chad and Sudan forming the boundary between the Palaearctic and Afrotropical realms. The South Atlantic islands of Ascension, St Helena, Tristan da Cunha and Gough, plus the Cape Verde Islands, the Gulf of Guinea, Madagascar and the western Indian Ocean islands are also included in the scope of the Manual.

Crosskey, R.W., ed. 1980. Catalogue of the Diptera of the Afrotropical Region. London: British Museum (Natural History), 1437 pp.